Happy Birthday: How to keep your presents simple.

Mar 2, 2018 10-52-07.png

Do you ever hang onto an item because someone gave it to you as a gift, and even though you’ve outgrown it emotionally or physically, you feel the need to be polite and keep it in your possession? How do we maintain a life of less on days where friends and family usually give you gifts like on birthdays and holidays?

I found myself with this obstacle during the past week as my birthday came and went. I love giving and receiving gifts, however I became nervous this year to receive gifts, as I wasn’t sure that I wanted to add to my inventory.

Parts of me still wanted nice shiny new gifts, or cute things to add to my aesthetic, but other “newer” parts of me did not want more material. So I decided on a happy medium: I am not going to deny that I am still swooned by gifts even on this journey to live with less, after all I am only in the beginning stages. I wasn’t ready to completely give up gift giving and receiving, so I chose this tactic.

From very close family, including my fiancé, I asked for either money that would go into savings, or gifts that give experience rather than extra stuff. From my parents I received money, and from my fiancé a lovely gift of tickets to a ballet I’ve been itching to see. This way, we can create a memory that can last in our hearts, and our accumulation of stuff stays same in size. The money from my parents went into savings for another huge event coming up that I will remember forever: my wedding.

From my friends I accepted gifts; like stated above, I am not immune to the joy of receiving new stuff yet, especially when my friends have such good taste. Lucky for me, my friends gave me items I can see myself keeping for a very long time, and that add to my aspiring life of Hygge: candles, bath salts, beautiful coasters, and so much more. These items are beautiful and useful, which I believe is the perfect material gift to receive.

Keep your possessions limited by asking for memories instead of things: when people wonder what to get you for your birthday, you can suggest movie tickets, or a dinner together. Maybe even a donation in your honour to a charity you support. All of these things are meaningful and memory making, and a chance to connect with your friends and family further. If you are inclined to receive a gift, perhaps ask for useful items as oppose to trendy or fad things: ask for things you will cherish and use like a new book or a nice candle.

This birthday was a happy medium, I am hoping by next year maybe I will be willing to tell all of my friends to give my presence, instead of presents…

I told you I would be transparent, and here I am. I am unapologetically imperfect.

What are your favorite gifts to receive?

Jordan


Leave a comment